Blogs · Creative Logs

Blog 1, “Expostulation and Reply”

1/ CREATIVE “Expostulation and Reply”

In this poem Wordsworth responded to his friend Matthew by explaining to him the value of sitting “upon this old grey stone” and ignoring “books”.

In either prose or verse write a passage that tells Matthew why there is more to life than books. You can of course look at “The Tables Turned” for some of your ideas.

There is more to life than some barren leaves.
Regardless of any written interpretation, you may read, about the texture and the shape and of the earth, while having your head down and hands clutched, you will not comprehend the fascination of connecting with your surroundings.
We are individuals of two separate mindsets and influences, as what I can achieve in an hour, dreaming my time away, with the wind blowing against my face and ignoring your pages, can be far more creative than what you can come up within a day. If you continue to disparage the imaginative creativity, you are not an artist you are what I call a follower, as your hands are often occupied with carrying this thing called a book; you Matthew give it the power to guide your life and mind around. I hope that you will wake up sooner rather than later, to realize that imagination is priceless while books and pens are bought for prices.
It is my choice, to look at the world today and ignore what was published, as I do not want to be blinded by people from earlier generations, who preferred the use of an inked object over the mind. It is my choice, to strive and seize the world as if I am the first and last born birth on this earth, and if you are too narrow-minded to do this, I apologize for saying this, but you will never learn the beauty of living and understand the existence of our existence.
I am aware that people lived before me and will continue to live after me, yet as far as I am concerned, I have to acknowledge what was given to me and find ways in which I can use it, to create art that is too limitless for your bookworm mind. I will grow appreciating every moment in life, as my spirit, soul and body are fed with what nature has and will provide me.

Featured image: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/G83vA6ToNbU/maxresdefault.jpg

Leave a comment